New Mexico Hit And Run Laws

Injured In An Accident? Garcia Legal Can Help

Understanding New Mexico’s Hit And Run Laws

If you’ve been the victim of an Albuquerque hit-and-run accident, you’re likely in pain and facing uncertainty when it comes to damages and medical bills. On top of all of this, an injured victim will be affected by lost time at work and other complications that have stemmed from the accident. However, there is no need to face these obstacles alone. Understanding the New Mexico hit-and-run laws can help ensure that your legal rights are protected and that you receive the maximum compensation for your injuries.

In New Mexico, motorists involved in an accident who flee the scene for any reason other than to get help are guilty of hit-and-run. Any drivers involved in accidents must remain on the scene, and offer assistance if needed or necessary. It’s also important that all drivers involved exchange pertinent information, including names, contact information, driver’s license numbers, and insurance details.

Proposed New Mexico Hit And Run Laws

According to a recent local news outlet, New Mexico has seen an increase in car accidents and reckless drivers over the past few years. Because of this, New Mexico lawmakers are devising ways to address the state’s dangerous drivers, especially when it comes to hit and run incidents. An Albuquerque legislator has recently argued that the current law does not adequately punish hit-and-run drivers, and as a result, this crime is not taken as seriously as it should be. As of 2021, New Mexico categorizes hit-and-run driving offenses as third-degree felonies. But the newly proposed New Mexico hit and run accident laws aim to upgrade hit and run offenses to second-degree felonies. This change would result in a potential increase in jail time as well as the perceived consequences of this crime. Not to mention, even damaging a car and leaving the scene would be considered a felony. The New Mexico legislator understands that these accidents are often not always intentional; however, the decision to leave the scene is one that is consciously made. Similarly, drunk driving accidents where a driver leaves the scene of the incident will also be looking at more serious charges as well.

Penalty for Accidents Without Injuries:

  • Misdemeanor; fine of not more than $1,000 AND/OR imprisonment in the county jail for a term of less than one year
  • Revocation of driver’s license/nonresident operating privilege

Penalty for Serious Injury or Wrongful Death:

  • Fourth-degree felony; 18 months of imprisonment
  • Revocation of driver’s license/nonresident operating privilege

Penalty For Hit And Run Accident That Results in Great Bodily Harm:

  • Third-degree felony; three years imprisonment
  • Revocation of driver’s license/nonresident operating privilege

Penalty For Hit And Run Accident That Results in Death:

  • Third-degree felony; six years imprisonment
  • Revocation of driver’s license/nonresident operating privilege

The Rights of Hit-and-Run Victims

As the victim of a hit-and-run accident, you are entitled to monetary compensation for your injuries, damage to your car if you were driving, lost time from work, and more. You may also be entitled to additional damages depending on the nature of the incident. It’s critical that you speak with an experienced New Mexico car accident lawyer as soon as possible following a crash. Together a plan can be devised and legal action can be taken swiftly in a situation where time is valuable.

Contact A Hit And Run Accident Lawyer Today

At Garcia Legal, we help accident victims pursue maximum compensation for injuries sustained in a vehicle collision. If you or someone close to you has been hurt or killed by a hit-and-run driver, our personal injury attorney will fight for you. The damage in a hit-and-run collision can be devastating, and pursuing a legal claim against the at-fault party can be difficult without the right resources. Luckily, Garcia Legal has years of experience successfully representing injured individuals and their families. Contact us today for a free consultation.

REQUEST A FREE
CONSULTATION

TESTIMONIALS

Schedule A Free Consultation

When you get into an accident, you need a New Mexico personal injury lawyer you can trust to see you through to the other side. Insurance companies, claims adjusters, and bill collectors will overwhelm you with phone calls in the aftermath of an accident – all while you’re trying to deal with personal injuries and emotional damage. Hiring a personal injury lawyer in Los Lunas New Mexico can help you successfully resolve your case and get the compensation you need and deserve. If you or a loved one have been hurt or injured by someone else’s negligence, call Garcia Legal today.