What Are The Motorcycle Laws in New Mexico?
All motorists, including motorcyclists, must abide by New Mexico’s traffic laws and regulations. There are plenty of rules and guidelines that make up these traffic laws, for example, all drivers must yield the right-of-way and must always comply with speed limits in certain areas. These are examples of rules and regulations that apply to all motorists, regardless of the type of vehicle being driven. However, there are also specific motorcycle laws in New Mexico that all motorcyclists must be aware of before hitting the open road.
New Mexico Motorcycle Helmet Laws
Under New Mexico law, riders and passengers under 18 must wear a helmet. The helmet and reflector must meet the U.S. Department of Transportation standards in order to be deemed legal. Failure to use a helmet in New Mexico when riding a motorcycle may result in a fine. Accidents involving motorcyclists not wearing a helmet can also significantly affect your personal injury claims due to your own negligence and disregard for safety.
New Mexico Motorcycle License Laws
All New Mexico motorcyclists must have a valid driver’s license with a proper endorsement determined by the engine size in the motorcycle. First-time applicants in New Mexico for a motorcycle license may be required to attend a motorcycle driver training program to promote and ensure that riders understand the laws and regulations.
New Mexico Insurance Laws
Motorists in New Mexico including motorcyclists must carry the minimum amounts of liability insurance to be deemed a legal rider. The minimum liability insurance amounts in New Mexico are as followed:
- $25,000 for serious injury or death of one person
- $50,000 for serious injury or death of two or more persons
- $10,000 for property damage in any one accident
New Mexico Eye Protection Laws
From section 66-7-355 of New Mexico House Bill 65: “Any person operating a motorcycle not having a fixed windshield of a type approved by a regulation of the secretary shall wear an eye-protective device which may be a face shield attached to a safety helmet, goggles, or safety eyeglasses. All eye-protective devices shall be of a type approved by regulations promulgated by the director.” In short, if the motorcycle in question does not have a valid windshield attached, the motorcyclist must wear protective eye gear for their safety.
New Mexico Passenger Laws
Motorcycle passengers in New Mexico can only ride on a motorcycle if the vehicle is designed to carry more than one passenger. Any extra passengers will result in a fine and potential license suspension.
New Mexico Registration Laws
Motorcycles are among the vehicles that must be registered in the State of New Mexico to be considered legal. Motorcyclists must show proof of insurance and a valid license in order to register their motorcycle.
New Mexico Motorcycle Headlamp Laws
Every motorcycle shall be equipped with at least one, but no more than two headlamps. All headlamps must also be mounted at the proper height. Every motorcycle in New Mexico must also be equipped with at least two brakes that may be operated by hand or foot of the rider.
New Mexico Lane Splitting Laws
Under no circumstances is lane splitting allowed in New Mexico. As in most states, lane splitting is illegal. Multiple state bills asking for the legalization of lane splitting have been introduced recently, but as of 2021, New Mexico continues to outlaw lane splitting.
Injured? Contact A New Mexico Personal Injury Lawyer Today
New Mexico motorcycle laws are designed to protect motorcyclists, but some accidents are inevitable. Motorcycle injuries are often devastating and can alter the victim’s and their family’s life forever. If you or a loved one have been injured in a motorcycle accident in New Mexico, your first move should be to contact an expert Albuquerque motorcycle accident attorney who has dealt with many similar cases. Garcia Legal is ready to help you right the wrongs done to you, call today for a free consultation and case review.